Overheard From a Couple of Friends


“NOT FOR NUTTIN’”

What the heck does this mean? I’ve heard it numerous times as an introductory phrase to what the person has to say, but I have no idea what it signifies and it’s driving me nuts.

So, not for nuttin’ but I think it’s about time I figure out the meaning of ‘not for nuttin’.

To begin with, the word “nuttin” does not refer to nuts or the collecting of nuts. It’s the northern New Jersey/ NYC) pronunciation of the word “nothing.” So are ya’ clear on dat?

Image                     The on-line Urban Dictionary defines the phrase as  “what I’m about to say is important.” It can also mean “I’m offering this as friendly advice or a constructive observation.”

The phrase, the Urban Dictionary people contend, is the NYC/East Coast slang of the Caucasian working class (particularly Italians) and is usually pronounced “Not f’nuthin’, but….”  (note: this is Urban Dictionary speaking—not me)

Some say that the origin of the phrase is the Italian “non per niente,” which generally means “not that I have anything to gain by this.”

So Sue and Maryann, now I know what youse means when youse say “not for nuttin.”

Dat ends dis blog entry.

 

 

(squirrel image courtesy of Animalclipart.net)

One Response to “Overheard From a Couple of Friends”

  1. Maryann Says:

    Yea cause not fa nuttin I liked this blog! Yo, so glad your brushin up on your bookin slang! Fore you know it you’ll be just like us!
    I’m just sayin!

    Luv ya! The afore mentioned,
    Maryann

Leave a comment